Allegheny County Health Dept. STD Clinic

8 Jul

Allegheny County Health Dept. STD Clinic            

First Floor,

3441 Forbes Avenue

Oakland

http://www.achd.net/std/clinic.html

What type of medicine does the provider practice?

STD/STI, HIV testing

Would you recommend the provider to others?

unsure

Why did you see this provider?

research study and STD testing

Was the provider affordable?

this clinic is free

Please describe your experience with the provider:

The woman conducting the research study was very helpful as I had a lot of questions about the survey I was taking. There was also some confusion about how applicable the questions were because I am transgender. She made me feel at ease.

One of the women giving me a vaginal exam to test for STDs was okay except she started talking to me about some family member who was trans and I didn’t really want to get into it. There was also someone else in the room to gain experience. I would have liked a more formal introduction.

The other provider administering the follow up exam was very non-verbal and I felt like I couldn’t say anything even though I was in pain. (This is common after taking testosterone so long). I didn’t feel like she really cared at all.

Please describe the accessibility of the practice for you:

I don’t have mobility issues. I had to travel around the building a lot for the research survey part of it.

Additional Information:

The waiting room is very crowded and loud.

This clinic is free and was fine about me being transgender. It still feels like a crazy overworked kind of environment. I would probably choose another place to get tested next time.

Easy to make an appt. sometimes i was on hold for a while.

Leave a Reply

