Dr. Sheila Ramgopal

1 Apr

Provider name: Dr. Shelia Ramgopal
Practice name: UPP OBGYN/Magee
Address, Pittsburgh, PA zip:UPP OB/GYN Dept of OB/GYN, NIA Associates, 211 N. Whitfield St., Suite 410, Pittsburgh, PA 15206
Phone(412) 361-3132

What type of medicine does the provider practice?

OB/GYN

Would you recommend the provider to others?

Absolutely. Love her. Details below.

Why did you see this provider?

Follow up after hysterectomy/ pelvic pain from endometriosis

Was the provider affordable?

I have medicaid which is very good insurance. She’s UPMC so I assume the same rules apply for any UPMC office.

Please describe your experience with the provider:

I love Dr Ramgopal. I’ve seen her a couple of times after Dr Burch moved on from Pittsburgh. She is so incredibly nice, genuine, caring, hard working, and sensitive. She’s a great listener and does not push you to do things you don’t want to. She gave me options and is sensitive to how difficult exams can be for me.

She’s also pretty radical from what I can tell. She wrote a piece about being a proud abortion provider in the post gazette, is vegan (or mentioned she was at my last visit when I told her I was vegan), very knowledgeable about trans patients (I’m trans masculine), and seems like she’s really on my side.

Please describe your experience with the provider’s support staff: Staff interactions were brief but also nice. Their staff is educated about trans people. I didn’t have to teach them a bunch of stuff which is really nice.

What can you share about this provider’s identities and/or the practice’s affiliations that may be important to their clients?

I think she is a hetero partnered cis gender woman of color with radical politics at least in regards to women/trans rights and needs.

Especially good with certain a certain community, special skills, or services?

trans friendly and racially diverse staff at east end location, good with trauma survivors

Leave a Reply

