Dr. Robin Maier UPMC Squirrel Hill

18 Jul

Squirrel Hill Family Practice – UPMC
5608 Wilkins Ave.
Pittsburgh, PA 15217
(Squirrel Hill) Office
Phone: (412) 422-8762

What type of medicine does the provider practice?        

Family Medicine with subspecialty of Obstetrics & Gynecology

Would you recommend this provider to others?     

Yes. She was knowledgeable and asked good questions. She brought up issues of insurance and cost and was concerned about not ordering tests that were borderline necessary if I would have to pay for them. She was respectful of my (trans) gender. She went above and beyond to share useful information that I wouldn’t have known to ask for. I also found her to be friendly and funny.

When was your last visit with the provider          

0-5 months ago

Why did/do you see this provider?         

Ongoing gynecological care after previous cervical issues.

What was/is your experience making an appointment with this provider?           

I believe I had to wait around 6 weeks.

Was/is the provider affordable?              

I have UPMC insurance, which they take. I don’t know what other options are available.

Please describe your experience with the provider.       

See above under #5. I felt respected and comfortable. The visit was perhaps slightly rushed, but I believe that if I had asked her to slow down and spend more time with me she would have.

Please describe your experience with the provider’s support staff (if applicable).            

I found all of the support staff to be friendly and nonjudgemental. While I have had only one visit with Dr. Maier, I have been attending the practice for a year and the support staff have remembered me and been welcoming.

What identities do you have?    

I am a middle-aged white queer able-bodied trans person.

What can you share about this provider’s identities and/or the practice’s affiliations that may be important to their clients?      

The provider appeared to be a middle-aged straight white female. I was drawn to seeing her because she studied English before becoming a doctor and I believe that I was correct in guessing that she might be a more open-minded, less numbers-at-the-expense-of-people-type provider.
http://bioethics.pitt.edu/people/robin-maier-ma-md

What did you observe or experience about the accessibility of the practice?       

The building is right on the 67 & 69 bus lines. I believe the building is ADA compliant. The bathrooms are gendered, but single occupant. I noticed signage about Chinese translation being available. There is a free designated patient parking right next to the building. Most of the times I have been there spaces have been available. There is also street parking around the corner.

 

 

Advertisements

Robert G. Kaniecki, MD

15 Jun

Provider name: Robert G. Kaniecki, MD
Practice name: The University of Pittsburgh Headache Center
Address, Pittsburgh, PA zip: The University of Pittsburgh Headache Center, University Center
120 Lytton Ave.,Suite 3, Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Office Phone: (412) 647-9494

What type of medicine does the provider practice?        

 Neurologist specializing in migraine and other headaches

Would you recommend this provider to others?              

 Yes

When was your last visit with the provider          

 0-5 months ago

Why did/do you see this provider?         

Chronic Migraines

What was/is your experience making an appointment with this provider?           

 Called the office and they made one. Originally he was booked until November (8 month wait,) but there was an opening in May they were able to give me. This place is in very high demand so there is a ridiculous wait to get in there.

Was/is the provider affordable?              

 I have Medicare and Medicaid which they take. UPMC has financial aid for the uninsured. I guess the rest depends on your income and insurance because it’s a UPMC facility.

Please describe your experience with the provider.       

 I was very pleased and impressed with this office. The waiting room has very little light and no TV blaring like so many awful rooms do. The low light may be a barrier for some with vision barriers but it is a great asset for most migraine sufferers. Dr Kaniecki himself called me and took me back and did my entire assessment and exam. This was my first appointment and he did everything (very unusual for a doctor to put in that much effort not have nurses do most of the work.)

He listened well and also redirected me when needed (I can go off topic because I have a thousand health problems.) He is very experienced and educated in his field and explained things to me in ways I understood. He spent a long time with me, gave me handouts, let me ask questions. He also was respectful to me in general and if he was thrown by me being a weird looking tattooed trans person wearing a “Black Lives Matter” shirt, he didn’t show it. My PCP referred me and he tends to do a decent job picking trans-friendly doctors most of the time. He was able to ease my mind about some neurological/cognitive/memory problems I have been having (reversible and due to medication.) Because of my intersecting health conditions and medications, my issue is not a simple fix and I do have to accept that there may not be a perfect solution. But, I have faith that if someone walked in and migraine was their only problem, he could probably greatly reduce or even eliminate them in that person. He was understanding about how I had to make tough choices about a medication that may help one condition but worsen migraine and vice versa.

When I left there was someone I am pretty sure was family (as in LGBTQ) who did my check out (I say that both because of how they looked and how they interacted with and “saw” me) so that was nice to see. And parking was free.

 Please describe your experience with the provider’s support staff (if applicable).            

 The only staff I interacted while there were the front desk woman who was very nice and polite and the person who did my checkout at the end. Before the appointment I received a call asking if I got a new patient packet and if not, to come in early and a separate call the day of to ask me to confirm my appointment. That was odd because I had already confirmed it but it was no big deal. All of the staff I saw were white.

What identities do you have?    

 

White, transmasculine (on low dose T about 5 years, read as male a lot by general hetero public until I start talking or they stare at me long enough, read as female on the phone, cannot bind or have surgeries due to health conditions and also don’t really identify with being a man, so I have complicated relationships with trying to “pass,”) Queer, average to “overweight” size, semi invisibly disabled except for slight limp and sometimes wearing braces, younger than people expect for a disabled person (35 and look younger to some,) fair amount of tattoos, poverty level social security income but have a savings account with SSD back pay that gives me more financial freedom than many people at my income level have.

Tell us if the provider or practice is especially good with a certain community, has special skills or services.         

I don’t know about any of this but he DID seem to be serious about believing in fibromyalgia, sensitive nervous systems, and other things than many doctors- especially men- dismiss as hysteria. So, I would say he’s probably more friendly to populations with those kind of diagnoses. Dr Seltman (my PCP, trans specialized) referred me to him so he probably sees some regular queer and trans clients and might have more experience than average though I can’t say for sure.

What can you share about this provider’s identities and/or the practice’s affiliations that may be important to their clients?      

Pretty sure judging by his office and photos, he is a white, cisgender, married (to a woman,) guy with children.

What did you observe or experience about the accessibility of the practice?       

As I mentioned before, the waiting room was designed to be more headache friendly- low light, no noise, signs asking people not to use their cellphones (though two people still were.) The garage is right under the place which is very convenient not having to walk far from the car, but it was under construction and is a bit of a mess to get through. There is an elevator from the garage with automatic doors but once you get up to the office the door is not automatic. Parking is 100% validated/free when you leave the office with the ticket they give you. The waiting room is small but I think may be big enough to navigate with wheels if someone gets the door. The staff I made the appointment with did ask if I had any accessibility needs. There are two gendered restrooms down the hall. The men’s room has two stalls but I did not see a changing table. For bus riders, it is about a block away from 5th ave in Oakland where a bunch of buses let off. I forgot to look for braille on the placards. Signs are all in English that I saw.

 

 

 

Dr. April Dunmyer

15 Jun

Provider name: Dr. April Dunmyer
Practice name: Womancare Associates
Address, Pittsburgh, PA zip: 121 Freeport Rd., Suite 120, Blawnox, PA 15238
Phone: (888) 231-4050

What type of medicine does the provider practice?        

OB/GYN

Would you recommend this provider to others?              

 Yes, Dr. Dunmyer has always been accommodating, kind, and communicative.

When was your last visit with the provider          

 0-5 months ago

Why did/do you see this provider?         

Annual

What was/is your experience making an appointment with this provider?           

They had availability when I needed it.

Was/is the provider affordable?              

I have UPMC insurance

 

Please describe your experience with the provider.       

 Health issues where thoroughly explored and possible care solutions provided… as well as possibilities for follow-up if needed.

 Please describe your experience with the provider’s support staff (if applicable).            

 Support staff was kind and helpful

What identities do you have?    

 white, able-bodied female, age 41, slim build 

What can you share about this provider’s identities and/or the practice’s affiliations that may be important to their clients?               

 Female-identified, mother

What did you observe or experience about the accessibility of the practice?       

 Ramps are present for entry. Easy access from Rt 28N (right off Blawnox exit).

 

Charlynn Ritenour-Bailey/UPMC Department of Ob-Gyn

22 Jan

Charlynn Ritenour-Bailey
UPMC Department of Ob-Gyn
211 North Whitfield Street,
Pittsburgh, PA, 15206
(412) 361-3132

What type of medicine does the provider practice?        

OB/GYN

Would you recommend this provider to others?              

No; I have never had a more negative experience with a healthcare provider in my life, and filed a letter of complaint with UPMC. Dr. Ritenour-Bailey and her staff were extremely incompetent, and it took 5 months and 3 office visits to get the results of standard STD tests, which I finally received after visiting an outside lab (fourth visit in total). Text of letter I wrote is here, happy to provide more details as well:

To Whom It May Concern:

I am writing in order to formally file a complaint against Charlynn Ritenour-Bailey, a nurse practitioner within the UPMC network.

My initial appointment with Ms, Ritenour-Bailey took place on February 10, 2015 at her office at 211 North Whitfield Street in Pittsburgh. The appointment was for a check-up, Pap smear, and STD testing. I was very clear about the fact that I had not been to a gynecologist in at least five years, and requested every STD test available. I was concerned about possible exposure to herpes, and thus was extremely clear that I wished to be tested for that virus.

At the conclusion of that visit, Ms. Ritenour-Bailey informed me that I would receive a phone call from her if any test results were abnormal, and a letter with my results if everything was normal. After approximately three weeks, I received two letters dated February 18, stating that my test results for Hepititis B, Hepititis C, HIV, Syphilis, HPV, and Pap Smear were normal. Since a number of the tests I had specifically requested were not addressed, I called the office immediately. I was told that all my tests were normal, and that letters with the remaining results would be forthcoming. Five weeks later, after many additional phone calls to the office from me, I recived a letter dated March 17 that indicated my test results for Chlamydia and Gonorrrhea were normal.

However, I still had no results, normal or abnormal, from the Herpes test I specifically requested. When I called back again, I was finally told that Ms. Ritenour-Bailey’s office had not in fact requested that test, despite me both asking for it by name and being told repeatedly it had been performed. Her office apologized, and offered me the option to come in for a blood draw so the test could be performed, which I did on March 25. In the month after that blood draw I called the office at least three separate times, and was told by various staff members that my test results were normal, and that a letter stating so was in the mail. On April 30, more than a month after that blood draw, I called the office again to find out what was going on and why I had not recived a letter regarding the results of my herpes test.

At that point, after speaking with three different staffers who were unable to tell me what was going on, Ms. Ritenour-Bailey called me herself. She stated that her records indicated that I had not shown up for the blood draw on March 25. I stated that was unequivocally false, and she said that she would call me back once she figured out what was going on. Her office manager called me about half an hour later, and told me that their office had mislabeled my blood drawn on March 25, and as a result Quest Diagnostics had discarded it without performed the herpes test. She then offered to write me a prescription to have the test done at the testing facility, which I accepted.
The level of incompetence demonstrated by Ms. Ritenour-Bailey’s staff and her inability to oversee them was staggering, and effectively prevented me from received information that I requested, was owed, and was crucial to my health. The errors in ordering and performing my tests were compounded by misinformation I received repeatedly, from a number of different staffers. I could not be more upset with the entire experience, and sincerely hope that efforts will be made to address what is a violation of ethics and the standards of decent medical care.

When was your last visit with the provider          

1-3 years ago

Why did/do you see this provider?         

OB/GYN checkup

What was/is your experience making an appointment with this provider?           

No problem making an initial appointment, but once something was wrong it was impossible to get in touch with anyone who could help. I spent at least five hours on the phone in total.

Was/is the provider affordable?              

They accepted my UPMC insurance.

Please describe your experience with the provider.       

Please see review above.

Please describe your experience with the provider’s support staff (if applicable).            

Please see review above.

What identities do you have?    

White woman, 32 at time of visit, able, middle class.

 

Stacy Lane/Central Outreach Wellness Center

12 Dec

Dr. Stacy Lane
Central Outreach Wellness Center
127 Anderson St #101
Pittsburgh, PA 15212
(412) 515-0000
https://www.centraloutreach.com/

 

What type of medicine does the provider practice?        

Trans and HIV care

Would you recommend this provider to others?              

I wouldn’t recommend Stacy Lane to anyone who is nonbinary or otherwise looking to transition in less traditional ways. I am aware that many of her patients love her, and that she has done a lot in Pittsburgh for trans women of color. That does not make her a good fit for everyone though, and I think people have the right to know that. I have never used her as a doctor due to comments she made in a newspaper interview around Caitlyn Jenner’s transition. “The Bruce to Caitlyn transition is a great benefit to the community. While it shows the visibility of someone people identify with through the (“Keeping Up with the Kardashians”) show or Olympics, more than 99 percent of transgender people don’t have the resources he has. I love that she is a good-looking woman and even people who aren’t supportive of the transgender community can’t say she is bad looking. Although you don’t know what’s been photoshopped.” I find that to be super misogynistic, and I find the implications around standards of attractiveness to make the world actively less safe for nonbinary people and trans folks who don’t want to or can’t pass. http://triblive.com/aande/moreaande/8485780-74/jenner-caitlyn-bruce

When was your last visit with the provider          

Haven’t seen her because I find her public comments to be triggering.

 

What identities do you have?    

Nonbinary, transmasculine, white.

 

 

Dr. Lorelei Grunwaldt/Children’s Hospital

12 Dec

 

Dr. Lorelei Grunwaldt
Pediatric Plastic Surgery
Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC
4401 Penn Ave.
3rd Floor
Pittsburgh, PA 15224
(412) 692-8650
http://www.chp.edu/find-a-doctor/service-providers/lorelei-grunwaldt-112743

 

What type of medicine does the provider practice?        

Top surgeon. Pediatric plastic surgeon.

Would you recommend this provider to others?              

I’d absolutely recommend her to transmasculine people who are eligible for keyhole top surgery. She and her staff are very nice. Her scheduler even took care of getting insurance to preapprove and pay for my surgery! I saw Dr. Grunwaldt once before my surgery and she spent time answering my many questions and showed me results photos. Everyone at the hospital the day of my surgery was respectful to both my partner and I. My scarring isn’t visible, the contour of my chest is good, and everything healed smoothly. Because she’s local, I’ve been able to have multiple follow up appointments, which most folks who have top surgery can’t do because they need to travel for it. I’m in my mid thirties and was able to go to her, so don’t be discouraged that she operates out of Children’s and is generally pediatric.

When was your last visit with the provider          

0-5 months ago

Why did/do you see this provider?         

I saw her for top surgery (double mastectomy, keyhole method)

What was/is your experience making an appointment with this provider?           

Her scheduler is super nice and responsive. You can get her direct line and email.

Was/is the provider affordable?              

She’s out of UPMC, so they take UPMC insurance.

Please describe your experience with the provider.       

I was very comfortable, and felt respected and validated

 Please describe your experience with the provider’s support staff (if applicable).            

They’re great too.

What identities do you have?    

White, transmasculine, nonbinary, queer, able bodied, thin

Tell us if the provider or practice is especially good with a certain community, has special skills or services.           

Trans friendly. Will do top surgery for minors, which not everyone will.

What can you share about this provider’s identities and/or the practice’s affiliations that may be important to their clients?               

White, cis woman. I believe straight but am not sure.

What did you observe or experience about the accessibility of the practice?       

At Children’s Hospital, so very accessible.

Additional Information:

 

 

Magee Womens Hospital Breast Imaging Center

7 Nov

UPMC Magee Women’s Hospital
Breast Imaging Center, 3rd Floor
300 Halket St,
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
(412) 641-4700

What type of services does the provider practice?        

Mammogram/Ultrasound

Would you recommend this provider to others?              

Not if you are identifiable (visually, medically, legally, or otherwise) as transgender or visibly gender nonconforming. If you are a cisgender woman it may be fine

When was your last visit with the provider          

 0-5 months ago

Why did/do you see this provider?         

Current thyroid cancer, family history of breast cancer, obgyn wanted chest lumps imaged.

What was/is your experience making an appointment with this provider?           

Called The Office’s Scheduling and the person was nice and it was quick and painless.

Was/is the provider affordable?              

I have Medicare and Medicaid supplementation so I am covered but it is UPMC so you may not be.

Please describe your experience with the provider.       

I have doubted myself multiple times in analyzing this experience but have come to the conclusion that the experience was messed up. My bar for medical care as a trans person is not that high and I left this place feeling embarrassed and ashamed even when I did nothing wrong. I was already very anxious going to this appointment both because I was afraid my cancer had spread and because it was a gendered appointment and I am a transmasculine person who is read as male or very butch. Waiting rooms are always a mess but providers can make all the difference if they know what they are doing.

I was treated differently than all of the people there for imaging and not in a good way. Many of the men in the waiting room were staring at me without shame because they are rude- this is not the hospital’s fault but it was one of the worst gendered waiting room experiences I have had and it is relevant to the rest of the story. The front desk staff was nice to me.

When I was called back I asked to use the restroom and the nurse was visibly bothered by this request. The men’s restroom on the hospital floor was closed for renovations and the one on the floor below had the only stall taken. I have issues with walking far or standing for long, so I could not continue traveling the entire hospital trying to find a bathroom or I would miss my appointment. It was then I started to realize that these people were nervous having a trans person there for imaging and didn’t want the other people to see me.

Once she had me in the mammogram room, she spoke kindly to me and was good at the procedure. I do think she cared about making me comfortable. But, unlike everyone else who was given the chance to change into a robe in a private room, she just told me to undress. I am a person who does not swim without a shirt or really take my shirt off in front of anyone. So, I had to undress in front of her and just stand there for a while, as a trans person, shirtless with no robe. I have never had any medical professional do this (with the exception of pulling my shirt up for ECGs while laying down which is common) and everyone else in the place was wearing a robe.

After a very uncomfortable and awkward mammogram, I thought I would be walked back to the waiting area for imaging which is inside the center, stocked with a kitchen of snacks and drinks to make people waiting more comfortable. Instead, I was taken all the way out to the main waiting room again to do the walk of shame through all of the people wondering why someone like me was getting a mammogram. Again, this did not seem to happen with anyone else I saw and when I went with someone else in the past, none of these things happened with them. I told myself maybe it was just crowded, but this seemed to be a decision made to keep me separate from other patients.

They then brought me in again for my ultrasound, again had me undress in front of them but at least gave me a towel this time to cover myself. I had to wait for a while for the doctor to come in to do the ultrasound. She was again good at the procedure from what I could tell and good at diagnostics, but she was saying judgemental or inappropriate things about past surgeries or medical treatments (assuming everything in my medical history must be because I am trans and also showing ignorance about certain procedures) or asking irrelevant questions like what kind of trans surgeries I want in the future. Doctors do this to me a lot, it is always inappropriate, but this place already felt so uncomfortable it was worse.

When my lumps were found to be visibly benign (thankfully,) she told me to return when I am 40 because only people with higher risk and a family history need to come yearly. I reminded them again that my mother had breast cancer in her early 40s and that I currently have a thyroid cancer recurrence and I was told I AM higher risk. She responded with “oh well, if you’re sure about that age then…” Which seemed dismissive as it is all over my charts and all of the paperwork I filled out.

Trust me, I never want to come back again. Ever. But, I also don’t want (more) cancer. At this point, I am not going to go back in a year. I don’t want to experience this again even with my risk level.

The thing is, this is the longest review I have written on PHB and the only negative one. And it was hard to write because there are so many microaggressions- little things that add up that some people may not think matter. But, they matter. Especially when you are in a scared or vulnerable place in medicine. I don’t know if there is an alternative for trans people who breast/chest screening. I can’t guarantee that you going to another place will be any better even if your insurance allowed it. All I can say is consider bringing someone with you, practice advocating for your needs, and be prepared to possibly feel as if people are treating you like some sort of dangerous person that can’t be around cis women (I imagine trans women would not fare well here either unless they can pass as cis and being trans is not in their medical record.)

 Please describe your experience with the provider’s support staff (if applicable).            

See above.

What identities do you have?    

Queer, trans masculine (DFAB), often pass as gay guy or very butch woman, (mostly invisibly) disabled, mid-30s, average-ish? size with overweight-obese BMI, poverty line social security income, white.

Tell us if the provider or practice is especially good with a certain community, has special skills or services.           

It’s a women’s hospital but I don’t know which women that is limited to.

What can you share about this provider’s identities and/or the practice’s affiliations that may be important to their clients?               

The nurse and doctor were both white cis women of middle age I think.

What did you observe or experience about the accessibility of the practice?       

Magee Womens Hospital has handicapped spaces, mobility scooters, and valet parking (I can’t remember if that is free) and is about a block away from a Forbes Ave bus stop. Some bathrooms are closed for renovation. Some mens rooms have only one stall. Some doors are automated. It tends to have more security than other places because of the maternity ward. Can be more crowded than other hospitals sometimes.

 

Noedahn Copley-Woods, MD

7 Jun

*This review was given verbally during an event, thus its brevity.

Noedahn Copley-Woods, MD
Magee-Womens Hospital
300 Halket Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15213

copleywoodsn@mail.magee.edu
412-641-4222

Gynecologist. Respectful, good with pronoun usage, was able to address a trans-specific health problem, works well with trans men and older women.

Jesse Gordon/Metro Community Health

7 Jun

*This review was given verbally during an event, thus its brevity.

Jesse Gordon
Metro Community Health Center
1789 S Braddock Ave #410
Pittsburgh, PA 15218
https://metrocommunityhealthcenter.org/
412-247-2310

She addresses what you want her to, you’re in charge. Gave the person info about getting testosterone and gave them time to read it, think about it. Transparent.

Susan Cherian/Psychologist

7 Jun

*This review was given verbally during an event, thus its brevity.

Susan Cherian
Psychologist
7455 Church St, Pittsburgh, PA 15218

(412) 242-5052

Respectful, open, works with sexual abuse survivors.

 

Patty Delaney/Nuin Center

7 Jun

*This review was given verbally during an event, thus its brevity.

Patty Delaney
Therapist
Nuin Center
5655 Bryant Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
773.865.3354
delaneyplcsw@gmail.com

Chill, gentle, nice gender therapist.

Dr. Xenia Borue, MD/Full Spectrum Psychiatry

7 Jun

*This review was given verbally during an event, thus its brevity.

Dr. Xenia Borue, MD
5877 Commerce St #216, Pittsburgh, PA 15206
(412) 345-1159

http://fspsychiatry.com/

Psychiatrist/Counselor. LGBT-friendly. Transitioning guidance, works with people on the autism spectrum. Moving to Millvale in June. Person had a good experience with this provider.

Mike Marshal

7 Jun

*This review was given verbally during an event, thus its brevity.

Mike Marshal
Gender Therapist
412-246-5663

Person had a good experience with Mike. Sees people under 21 free of charge.

Marie Engberg/Metro Family Practice

7 Jun

*This review was given verbally during an event, thus its brevity.

Marie Engberg
Metro Community Health Center
1789 S Braddock Ave #410
Pittsburgh, PA 15218
https://metrocommunityhealthcenter.org/
412-247-2310

“Super awesome!” Gave the person the informed consent form for hormone therapy so that they could take time and read it over. May be cutting her hours back.

 

Charles Esposito, LPC

12 May

Provider name: Charles Esposito, LPC
Practice name: Wisdom Within Counseling LLC
Address: 401 Shady Ave Ste C107 Pittsburgh, PA, 15206
Phone: (412) 357-4197
Website:
https://therapists.psychologytoday.com/rms/name/Wisdom+Within+Counseling,+LLC_Pittsburgh_Pennsylvania_184997

What type of services does the provider practice?        

 Mental Health

Would you recommend this provider to others?              

 Yes. Good communicator (scheduling and payments), nice office space, comfortable sharing about his own experience but doesn’t dominate the conversation, good at connecting things mentioned in previous visits to current visit, calm presence, has a lot of varied experience and technique to draw from, good at suggesting things withing being imposing, affirming of queer/trans experience, willing to get philosophical – develops interesting conversation.

When was your last visit with the provider          

 0-5 months ago

Why did/do you see this provider?         

 Feeling depressed and anxious. Looking for a provider who I could see during a very stressful time and also for maintenance.

What was/is your experience making an appointment with this provider?           

 Contacted through Psychology Today. Then connected over the phone to set up an initial appointment. I get email reminders about my appointments and sometimes communicate via text message.

Was/is the provider affordable?              

 I have UPMC insurance. We worked out a payment fee for each visit. The fee has only changed by $2 since starting (over 10 or so sessions). Someone else handles billing, so a couple times I got a bill for a slightly different amount, but that didn’t affect how much I paid. He’s okay with me paying in cash or check. Would be easier to pay with a card.

Please describe your experience with the provider.       

 I like seeing a counselor who identifies as gay. I like that he is ready to draw from a range of experiences, because my needs feel different during every session. I like that he takes good notes and follows back up on previous things said. I feel like he is paying attention. I enjoy being in the office space – decorations are thoughtful and there is natural light. He always offers me a glass of water. I stated that i ramble a lot and sometimes need to be redirected and he took that feedback and does in fact help me stay on track and not just gloss over feelings. He has validated my feelings about difficult family relationships in a way I haven’t really allowed myself to see before.

 Please describe your experience with the provider’s support staff (if applicable).            

 There are some other providers that meet in the same office. I haven’t interacted with them much at all.

What identities do you have?    

 30, queer, trans, man, white, insured

Tell us if the provider or practice is especially good with a certain community, has special skills or services.           

 He is fluent in Spanish (and Italian I think), sees a lot of patients of different faiths, LGBTQ-friendly

What can you share about this provider’s identities and/or the practice’s affiliations that may be important to their clients?               

 He is white, gay, grew up catholic, an artist, taught Spanish and Italian

What did you observe or experience about the accessibility of the practice?       

 The office is on the first floor of an accessible office building. There is an accessible gender neutral restroom on the same floor but not in the office itself. The office restroom is single-occupancy and not gendered.

Additional Information: